The Boys' & Girls' Clubs Association of Hong Kong

For fostering mental health of children, youth and their families, we strive to strengthen mental health assets in communities as well as Trauma-informed Care and Practice in services.

Executive Director
Charles CHAN Kin-hung

The epidemic has changed the face of the world. Individuals, families, organisations and societal sectors need to learn and adapt to the changes brought forth by the epidemic.

Society needs to accept and adapt to the new normal as the epidemic has persisted for over a year. As one of the Hong Kong’s longest standing children services organisations, BGCA has always shouldered its social responsibilities and commitment to create favourable conditions for our service targets, to help them cultivate positive emotions and a sense of hope for their balanced physical and mental development. In February and March 2021, the Association conducted a “Survey on Child Happiness and Sense of Hope” showed that in the past year, nearly 40% children felt lonely sometimes or often. Close to 40% experienced major distress or mood swings, in which about 35% did not proactively seek someone to talk to or for help. Only 40% children set long-term goals for themselves. Drawing insights from the survey results, we will continue to observe and pay close attention to the emotional, social and employment needs and sense of hope among young people under the new normal, meanwhile providing timely and appropriate support via data analysis and service innovations.

Strengthening Trauma-Informed Awareness to Ensure Mental Well-Being

We should take extra care of our emotional and mental well-being in the face of this complicated, ever-changing world. The growth and development of children and youth can be profoundly affected as their families face abrupt changes caused by the economic downfall, epidemic and more. From senior primary or junior high school, youth are prone to depression, anxiety, bipolar affective disorder or more serious emotional health problems due to challenges such as academic and social difficulties, physical changes or even bullying. In light of this, the Association has focused its strategy on building and strengthening the mental wealth among youth and their families in recent years, with the aim to enhance parent-child relations on one hand, and to foster their resilience and self-healing ability on another. 

Leveraging on its experience in trauma-related services over the years, the Association reinforces its training efforts across different service centres, small group homes, schools and outreach social initiatives, to enhance trauma-informed awareness among its frontline staff, so that it can be integrated into our service management and operations, creating a safe and protective environment for children. In addition, our LevelMind@JC project reinforces our regional youth services by strengthening our emotional and mental well-being support for secondary school students and youth, so as to enhance the effectiveness of early identification, connection, intervention and community support.

Enhancing Digital Competence of Disadvantaged Children to Embrace a New Digital Era

Our colleagues have much to learn and adapt  amid the new normal. Since last year, we adopted a “hybrid mode” in many of our services, work, committee meetings and international conferences. From online learning, work approval to online remote business supervision we all worked hard to improve efficiency. As the pandemic persists and the new social normal sets in, this hybrid mode is likely to normalise as our work model. The Association is therefore committed to enhancing its staff's digital ability to manage and facilitate services, for which we underwent internal digital transformation, including the updates of various IT management systems for the digitalisation of our service systems. On frontline and service unit levels, our membership service management systems will be updated in the coming year, in hopes of providing more appropriate and caring service experience to the members. We will also allocate resources for the disadvantaged, including low-income families, children and youth in need, so that they will not fall behind the changes of society due to the digital divide. The Association believes in the importance of nurturing and enhancing digital competence among disadvantaged, normal families as well as working youth, which will also be one of the major focuses of our services. 

Nurturing Talents for Our Professional Legacy

Nurturing talents has never been so important in this era of constant change. The Association will hence step up its effort in talent training and development, including succession and training plans for all levels, service innovations and knowledge transfer, in order to prepare us for any future challenges and to strive for excellence and beyond.


Top
Donate now Donate now

香港小童群益会

巩固精神健康资本,实践「创伤知情」全人关怀服务,着力提升儿童、青少年及其家庭的情绪及精神健康。

总干事
陈健雄

疫情,使世界变得不一样。不论是个人、家庭、机构或社会各界,都需要学习和适应疫情所带来的转变。

疫情持续一年多,社会需要适应和接受新常态。作为本港历史最悠久的儿童服务机构之一,本会一直肩负重要的社会责任和承担,努力提供及创造有利的环境,为服务对象培养正面情绪和希望感,让他们的身心可以得到均衡发展。今年二至三月,机构进行了「儿童快乐调查2021:希望感与快乐」研究,结果发现过去一年,有近四成儿童有时或经常觉到得孤独;另外亦有接近四成儿童曾遇到重大困扰或情绪波动,当中约三成半儿童未有主动找人倾诉或帮助;只有近四成儿童有为自己订立长期目标。因应是次调查,机构将继续观察及关注青年人在新常态之下,情绪、社交及就业等方面的需要及希望感,并透过数据分析、服务创新,提供更适切和及时的支持。

关注精神健康 加强创伤知情认知

面对复杂多变的社会环境,情绪和精神健康更值得重点关注。当家庭遇上经济、疫情或其他急剧变化时,对儿童及青少年的成长发展产生深远影响。青少年自高小、初中起,常面对学业、社交、身体变化,甚至乎欺凌等各方面的问题,从而引发抑郁、焦虑、两极情绪或更严重的情绪健康困扰。有见及此,机构近年的策略聚焦在建立及强化青少年及其家庭的精神健康资产,一方面巩固双方的关系,另一方面着力培养抗逆和自我疗愈的能力。

近年,机构透过多年来所累积的创伤服务经验,在不同服务包括中心、家舍、学校及外展社工服务,加强培训以提升前线同事在创伤知情的认知,并应用于服务管理及运作上,营造有助保护儿童的安全成长环境。此外,透过推动「赛马会平行心间」计划强化地区青少年服务,加强对中学生及青年人的情绪及精神健康支持,以达至提升及早识别、联系、介入及小区支持的效果。

迎接数码新时代 提升基层儿童数码能力

新常态之下,同事需要适应新模式和更多的学习。过去一年,很多服务、工作、委员会会议以至国际交流会议,都采用了「双轨模式」进行。无论网上学习、审批以至遥距在线业务督导,大家都努力学习及适应以提升工作效能。面对疫情持续及社会新常态下,「双轨模式」很可能成为工作新模式,所以机构致力提升员工在内部数码转型下管理及推动服务的能力,当中包括更新了多个信息科技管理系统,以推动服务系统数码化。另外,在前线工作及服务单位层面上,在来年亦会更新相关的会员服务管理系统,期望提供更多适切、贴心的服务体验。同时,机构亦调拨资源关顾社会上处于弱势的组群,包括基层家庭、困境中的儿童及青少年,使他们不会因子码鸿沟的分隔而落后于社会的步伐。机构深信在数码能力的培育及提升,无论是基层、一般家庭以及、投身工作的青少年,均为机构的重点服务关注之一。

培训人才 传承专业

在变动的年代,人才培育比从前更加重要,机构将加强人才培训及发展,包括各级继任及培训计划、创新服务、知识传承等,以迎接未来的挑战,使香港小童群益会成为精益求精,追求卓越的机构。


返回顶部
立即捐款 立即捐款