Services
Serving Children with Special Educational Needs

Every child has their own talent, and they need a healthy upbrigning and plenty of opportunities to galvanise their full potential. However, circumstances may set children apart on the get-go. Those who are faced with learning difficulties have to be given suitable guidance to motivate them. BGCA adopts an “early intervention and timely support” approach to nurture children’s strengths through appropriate training programmes. Through these efforts, it is our goal to help turn their challenges into motivation and set them on a course of sustained success and happiness.

BGCA works hard to support children and young people with special educational needs. BGCA’s services in supporting dyslexia, autism, Asperger’s syndrome, ADHD or giftedness target kindergarten, primary, and secondary school children and their parents. Those who are affected by special educational needs require sustained and multi-disciplinary support, and this can be achieved through cross-disciplinary partnerships. Currently, BGCA’s Integrated Services Centres offer one-on-one counselling and group trainings. There are also support services at schools and in the communities to educate the public about these conditions.

Different services were spearheaded in 2014-2015 to support children with special educational needs. These include: “Amway Love Difference Community Educational Project”, CLASSROOM Supporting Project, to name but a few. These projects served a total of 1,200 individuals.

Supporting children and youth with special educational needs has always been BGCA’s top priority. There are approximately 15-20% of children in Hong Kong who are diagnosed with different developmental disabilities or special needs, and the number is on the rise. Therefore, BGCA actively reaches out to disadvantaged families to facilitate a healthy and balanced development for every child. In the long run, BGCA will continue to plug any gaps in our current services by paying close atten-tion to students with SEN. This way, we can improve the employment prospects for these youths.

服務
支援特殊學習需要兒童
我們深信每位兒童都具備不同的潛能,且需要得到健康的成長環境和充足的發展機會。然而,部分兒童或會在成長的過程中面對不同挑戰,如學習障礙等,需要以合適的方法發掘他們的學習動機和潛能。本會持守「及早介入,適切支持」的信念,藉此培育和發掘兒童的潛能和強處,加以訓練和指導,並把挑戰轉化為動力,開展健康快樂的人生。

本會致力支援有特殊學習需要的兒童及青少年,當中包括有讀寫障礙、自閉症/亞氏保加症和專注力失調/過度活躍症、資優等,服務對象包括中、小學及幼稚園學生以及其家長。有特殊學習需要的兒童尤其需要多元化和長期的支援,而透過跨專業的合作方式可達致更佳的治療效果。現時本會轄下的各個綜合服務中心為不同特殊學習需要的兒童及家庭提供支援服務,當中包括個別輔導、小組活動等,服務更延伸至學校及社區,讓更多人關注他們的需要,締造共融的社區。

本會於2014-2015年度亦進行不同的服務計劃以支援他們的需要,包括:安利「童心悅學 – 愛顯不同」社區教育計劃、新增的「愛‧學習」課室支援計劃及「童譜同樂」音樂學習獎勵計劃等,服務超過1,200人次。

支援特殊學習需要兒童及青少年一直是本會的工作重點。據估計,在香港約有15-20%兒童有不同的發展障礙或特殊需要,而近年本會接觸到這類求助個案的數目亦不斷上升。故此,本會積極協助弱勢家庭,讓每位兒童都享有充足的發展機會。長遠來說,本會繼續填補服務空隙,關注特殊教育需要學生,提倡融合教育以提升他們的就業機會。