About Us
Executive Director’s Report
2016/17 has been an extraordinary year for BGCA. With concerted effort and support from all staffs, donors, volunteers, Board and Committee members, not only have we successfully hosted the first sizable Scientific Conference with the theme “Invest in our Young for a Brighter Tomorrow”, we have also taken plenty of new initiatives whilst celebrating our 80th anniversary. I take pride in the professionalism and talents of our team,
and the determination and capability of BGCA in bringing significant impact to our next generation and the society by capitalizing the wisdom accumulated over the years. 

Let me introduce a few notable steps taken by BGCA in the past year.




The establishment of the “Child Alliance” - We were fortunate to have representatives from four founding members of BGCA, namely the Judiciary, the Police, the Catholic community and the Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui to officiate the kick off of “Child Alliance” at the 80th Anniversary Dinner Symposium, which aim to bring forth a synergy of ideas and to create a conducive growing environment for our children and youth through cross-sectoral collaboration. We are pleased to have more than 37 partners from various professions and sectors, including the government offices responding to our call and we will continue expand the network.

Increasing effort towards evidence-based research and advocacy -Last year, we studied the sleep pattern of over 1400 children/youth service users when conducting the Children Happiness Survey in its second year. Our finding that local children slept 1-2 hours less than the international recommended standards and that those who slept less were found to be less happy has drawn public attention to the sleep deprivation problem among the young generations in Hong Kong. To continue the endeavour in research and advocacy area, a Steering Group had been set up under the Board to explore into evidence-based practice towards Early Intervention.

Innovative service and practice - Joining hands with the D.H. Chen Foundation, BGCA launched the Youth ImpACT Award (YIAA) which signifies the adoption of a contemporary approach to nurture the young to become contributing citizens. YIAA offered series of experiential learning workshops for secondary schools students, through which they were exposed to societal challenge and equipped with design thinking tools for transforming inspirations into concrete service ideas. I am glad that our 1,000 youth participants were inspired and empowered to making an impact to the society and the lives of others.

Physical Fitness in the digital era - We also invested in continually upgrading our core services. I am especially excited that the first ever Parent-Child Sports Day for over 700 children and parents of our After School Care Service (ASCS) from 19 Centres were successfully held, mimicking the traditional sports day that BGCA used to organise annually. Much emphasised by Prof. Nicholas Holt at the Scientific Conference about building resilience through physical exercise, the Sports Day was only the first step to revive sports related activities in our daily services to strengthen the physical and mental well-being of children, in the prevailing sedentary lifestyle induced by the frequent use of digital device.

We recognize that high quality services and sustainability of the Association is backed by clear direction, sound policies, effective systems and processes, and most importantly dedicated and competent staff. Last year, we started reengineering the agency-wide budgeting, service planning and review process, reviewed staff related policy and provided targeted staff training. I would like to welcome again the Head of Human Resources, Ms. Edith Suen and the Head of Administration, Ms. Joyce Au for joining BGCA, whom I trust will contribute greatly to the continuous strengthening of the central administration. I would like to also thank Mr. Sherman Chung and Mr. Kelvin Chung for taking up the role as Acting Supervisor for job enrichment as a new HR initiative for the senior management succession.

To be clear of where we are and where we are heading to, agency-wide performance measurement for effective monitoring and guidance of our work is essential. The process of identifying and gathering data for unique and well-defined Association’s Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) has been one of the greatest challenges during my year as the Executive Director. Started off since 2014, the first KPI report was compiled last year with the concerted effort made by all co-workers and continuous effort will be made to review and refine the KPIs going forward.

It was remarkable for BGCA to remain vibrant after eight decades despite inevitable flux of personnel and the changing external environment. Having farewell several of my retiring colleagues during the year, 2016 also marked the official year for my retirement after serving BGCA for more than 15 years as top management (and once served in the 1980’s). I wish to take this opportunity to thank the President, Hon President and Hon Chairmen, Advisors, and all Board and Committee members for their trust and support over the past decade and the extended year to come. I am also most grateful for being able to work hand in hand with a big family of colleagues who are always dedicated to BGCA’s mission. As long as we conserve this trust and dedication, I am confident that BGCA shall overcome whatever challenges ahead.

It was said that in the eyes of the children, we can see the future of our society. In the eyes of our staff, I see the future of BGCA, all the way!


Law Suk-kwan, Lilian, JP
Executive Director

last updated on:10-10-2017

關於本會
總幹事報告
對香港小童群益會而言,2016-17 年是非凡的一年。在所有同工、贊助人、義工、董事會及委員會成員的共同努力下,我們以「培育新一代 攜手創未來」為主題,成功舉辦了首次具規模的學術會議,同時,我們亦為慶祝成立80 周年屢創新猷。多年來,本會秉承前人的智慧,竭盡所能為新一代以至社會帶來重要的影響,本人為我們團隊的專業與才能感到驕傲。

讓我細數去年香港小童群益會幾個重要的里程。


「童益聯網」的成立- 本會十分榮幸獲四個創會團體的代表出席80 周年研討晚宴暨「童益聯網」啟動禮的主禮儀式,包括法官、警察、天主教教會及香港聖公會。成立「童益聯網」的目的,是透過跨界別合作,集結社會各界的力量,共建一個有利兒童及青少年成長的環境。我們很高興逾37 個來自不同專業的夥伴,包括政府部門,已加入我們的行列。我們將繼續擴展網絡,群策群力,服務社會。

加大力度推行實證為本的研究及倡議工作 - 去年,我們在進行兒童快樂調查時,研究了超過1,400 名兒童及青少年的睡眠習慣,發現香港兒童睡眠時間普遍不足,相比國際建議的標準一般缺睡1-2 小時,而睡眠不足的兒童,其快樂分數亦偏低。香港兒童睡眠不足的問題實在值得大眾關注。我們會就研究及倡議的工作範疇繼續努力,為此更成立了督導小組,就兒童早期介入作實證為本的探索試驗。

創新服務與實踐 - 香港小童群益會與陳廷驊基金會攜手策動「感創敢為 – 青年社會創新服務獎」,以合適的方法培育年輕人成為對社會有貢獻的公民。本計劃為中學生提供一系列的體驗工作坊,透過有關活動讓學生了解社會問題,提升他們的社會創新思維並將構思轉化成具體的服務點子。我很高興見到本計劃已觸動了1,000 名青年,決心為社會帶來解決問題的新思維。

在數碼時代強化兒童體適能 - 我們繼續投放資源以提升核心服務。秉承香港小童群益會以往每年舉行運動會的傳統,我喜見本會首個親子運動會順利舉行,吸引了超過700 名來自本會19 間中心參與課餘託管服務的兒童及家長參加。尼古拉斯.霍特教授曾於80 周年學術會議中強調,透過進行健體活動以增強抗逆力。在這個數碼產品盛行的時代,兒童慣於靜態的生活方式。舉辦親子運動會是本會於日常服務重塑與體育相關活動的第一步,以期提升兒童身心健康的發展。

本會能持續提供優質的服務,全賴擁有清晰的方向、有效的政策、制度和程序,而最重要的是,我們擁有一班具實力的同工作後盾。去年,本會重啟全會的預算、服務策劃及檢視程序,檢視與員工相關的政策,以及為目標員工提供培訓。我再次歡迎人力資源總監孫玉縈女士及行政總監歐頌詩女士加入香港小童群益會,我相信她們會繼續為強化中央行政而努力。我亦在此向擔任署任服務總監的鍾志文先生及鍾國雄先生表示感謝,有關署任安排乃是人力資源部為管理層繼任的一項創新方針。

要清楚知悉我們的定位和未來的方向,一套整全的、適用於監察工作效率和相關工作指引的績效衡量指標尤為重要。作為總幹事,對於識別和收集數據並套用於設定關鍵績效指標,實在是一項重大的挑戰。自2014 年起,在同工的同心協力下首個關鍵績效指標報告已於去年撰寫完畢,我們會繼續努力去檢視相關工作,令關鍵績效指標更見完備。

走過80 年,縱然面對不能避免的人事和環境變遷,香港小童群益會依然保持非凡活力。年內,在歡送數位同工榮休的同時,2016 年亦是本人服務香港小童群益會逾15 年( 曾於1980 年服務本會) 及正式退休的一年。我藉此機會感謝會長、榮譽會長及主席、顧問、所有董事會及委員會成員過去十年一直以來的信任和支持,我亦非常慶幸能夠跟每一位同工攜手努力,一起實踐香港小童群益會的使命。只要我們能持守信任與無私奉獻的精神,我相信香港小童群益會定能克服將來所有的挑戰。

從兒童的眼中,我們預視社會的未來。透過同工的眼光,我看見香港小童群益會的前景。

總幹事 羅淑君 太平紳士

last updated on:10-10-2017